Skip to content

Waypoint

June 25, 2013

A short but important day today. Made it to Newton, my mothers home town and location of many fond memories. I got to check every essential item off my list; Get a sloppy joe at the Maid-Rite, see my grandfathers salvage yard business again and to climb on sir rustalot the sculpture my mom and aunts organized to get built at the amazing library. Sitting in front of my grandfathers house was the best part, it's nice to reminisce and imagine my family's past here. I'm so proud to have these small town midwestern roots.

via TrackMyTour: OG and Rachi Bike Across the USA –SF to NYC– http://trackmytour.com/66NPN#282366

20130625-225915.jpg

20130625-225902.jpg

20130625-225848.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Heimberg---your mom's bicycling buddy permalink
    June 25, 2013 11:19 pm

    your grandfather’s name is dunitz? i’ve lived in los angeles all my life. knew a dunitz here when i was young. paul……..again

    • odog4life permalink*
      August 8, 2013 6:27 am

      My grandfather is Gralnek. He worked with the dunitz. Possible connection? Who knows!

  2. Rachel G. permalink
    June 26, 2013 10:16 am

    And the blackboard! Love the blackboard. This whole post, the photos, everything; it’s making me teary. Grandpa Max would be SO into this adventure of yours!

Leave a Reply

