Skip to content

A break-down of all my Gear

April 17, 2013
GearBreakOut

CLICK TO SEE LARGER
My REI employee discount has helped a lot in acquiring all this cool stuff!

Gear, gear, gear!

Today I laid out all my gear I am planning to bring along.  Of course some of this is group gear that will be split between two bikes, but dang! it seems like a lot to me as of now.  As the tour progresses there is a good chance I will be sending home a few things but most of it looks pretty essential to me.  What do you think? any tips??  One thing I am questioning is how many pairs of shorts to bring, I do love shorts.  One or two pairs of riding shorts?  I plan on bringing one pair of lightweight shorts to double as swim trunks.  As far as tools, I feel like I am covered as long as I find enough little extra bolts and screws to add to my repair kit.  I might bring a rechargeable solar panel but I think the bulk of electronics recharging will be done in cafes and bathrooms along the way.

I have been training the past two weeks with all this packed into my bag and it feels surprisingly stable and do-able.

Any advice is much appreciated!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. odog4life permalink*
    April 17, 2013 9:17 pm

    One more thing! Not pictured are my super awesome lightweight crocs shoes for wearing around camp/town. anything else would just be too much weight I think.
    should I get waterproof socks? Right now I think I’ll just rough it.

  2. odog4life permalink*
    April 17, 2013 9:45 pm

    also, yoga mat is just for show and unfortunately will not be coming along.

  3. Hanako Moondance permalink
    April 19, 2013 7:18 pm

    waterproof socks are awesome! we invested in seal skinz and it helped for soggy biking without our feet being sad. Also! kevlar spoke repair! saved our butts in last day of tour when alexs wheel nearly tacoed and a spoke broke drive side (its for easy drive side spoke repair) if you can’t nab one before you head out, we may have an extra that you can tour with just in case. yay for adventure!!!

  4. Nick permalink
    May 3, 2013 2:14 pm

    Definitely two pair of riding shorts. You need to have a pair to wear while the other pair is being washed/dryed. Hygiene down there is very important for a touring cyclist.

    Two handy things I learned from experience:

    1: A screw-in outlet adapter – lets you convert a light socket into an outlet for charging electronics. Very handy if you are at a rural park that doesn’t provide outlets, you can still charge your phone from a light socket.

    2: A universal sink stopper – so you can fill a sink that doesn’t have a stopper with water. Good for giving yourself a quick wash-up or giving some clothes a quick rinse.

Leave a Reply

