Skip to content

City Repair Lecture at UCSC

May 12, 2009

After my evening history class ended last night ended I rode my bike over to the largest lecture hall on campus, Unit 2, where the ESLP (education for sustainable living) class is held. I’ve been a few times to visit my friends in the class and listen in on the lectures. I arrived about half way into the presentation and had no idea what to expect. The exciting community redevelopment plan inspired by Mark Lakeman and others in Portland calls for a complete redo of the classic city grid into small village/neighborhoods that inspire a sense of community, empowerment, cohesion and creativity. What a great idea! I had a bid “duh” moment when I realized this is what humans started out with in the first place, it is natural, not boxed up and boring.
I can’t wait to bring my bike up to Portland this summer!

Check out the minimentery on the project below.

    City Repair website

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

